Tennessee recognizes specific disability categories  for the identification of students with disabilities.  A student may become eligible for special education services if  an evaluation determines the student meets the criteria for one or more of these disabilities:

-Autism -Intellectually Gifted

-Blind -Language Impairments

-Deaf-Blindness -Multiple Disabilities

-Deafness -Orthopedic Impairments

-Developmental Delay -Other-Health Impairments

-Emotional Disturbance -Speech Impairments

-Functional Delay -Traumatic Brain Injury

-Hearing Impairments -Visual Impairments

-Intellectual Disability -Specific Learning Disability

Specific definitions and evaluation procedures can be found in the
Tennessee Special Education Framework.

Sped Framework